Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Envision 2030

In 2010, the Town of Nederland adopted Vision 2020, a planning document where through community feedback, Nederland identified goals for the Town of accomplish over a decade (2010 – 2020). As we head into the next decade, the Town is seeking to develop the Vision 2030 Action Plan. We encourage you to visit this site frequently for updated information on the Envision 2030 process.

Envision 2030 – Vision Statement, Goals & Objectives

Envision 2030 – Vision Statement, Goals & Objectives

Envision 2030 May Subcommittee Meetings

Environmental Sustainability Subcommittee Meeting: Monday, May 3, 2021 @ 4 PM

Health, Human, & Social Services Subcommittee Meeting: Monday, May 3, 2021 @ 5:30 PM

Parks, Recreation & Open Space Envision Subcommittee Meeting: Wednesday, May 5, 2021 @ 8:30 AM

Arts, Culture, & Education Subcommittee Meeting: May 5, 2021 @ 4:30 PM

Municipal Government & Economic Development Subcommittee Meeting: Wednesday, May 5, 2021 @ 6 PM

Community Engagement Subcommittee Meeting: Thursday, May 6, 2021 @ 4:30 PM

Housing Subcommittee Meeting: Friday, May 7, 2021 @ 5 PM

Envision 2030 Advisory Committee Work Session, May 25, 2021 @ 7PM


We’ve created a video outlining all of the envision statements, goals, and objectives for each focus in Envision 2030, narrated by members of the community! This initial outline of the Envision 2030 Vision Statement will grow and change as community feedback is added to it.

Envision 2030 Subcommittees

Arts, Culture & Education

  • Mary Jarril (Chair)
  • Deb D’Andrea
  • Dawn Baumhover

Community Engagement

  • Deb D’Andrea (Chair)
  • Mary Jarril
  • Kristopher Larsen

Health, Human & Social Services

  • Ari Goodman (Chair)
  • Tom Mahowald
  • Atashnaa Medicineshield Werner

Housing – Friday’s @ 5pm

  • Mary Jarril (Chair)
  • Kayla Evans
  • Ron Mitchell
  • Atashnaa Medicineshield Werner

Municipal Government & Economic Development

  • Tom Mahowald (Chair)
  • Kristopher Larsen
  • Ron Mitchell
  • Lee Stadele

Parks, Recreation & Open Space

  • Jill Dreves (Chair)
  • Karen Blakemore
  • Mary Jarril

Environmental Sustainability

  • Karen Blakemore (Chair)
  • Jill Dreves
  • Billy Giblin
  • Tom Mahowald

Envision 2030 Committee

In January 2021, Town established an Envision 2030 Advisory Committee that will help to develop the vision, values, guiding principles, major goals and specific objectives for the Vision 2030 action plan.

Committee Members include:

  • Boards & Commissions:
    • Mayor Kristopher Larsen (Board of Trustees)
    • Tom Mahowald (Board of Zoning Adjustment)
    • Ron Mitchell (Nederland Downtown Development Authority)
    • Atashnaa Medicineshield Werner (Parks, Recreation, Open Space Advisory Board)
    • Karen Blakemore (Planning Commission)
  • External Agencies:
    • Jill Dreves (Wild Bear Nature Center)
    • Ari Goodman (Center for People with Disabilities)
  • Community Members:
    • Deb DAndrea
    • Clara Draper
    • Kayla Evans
    • May Jarril
    • Lee Stadele
    • Billy Giblin

Meetings will be facilitated by Town staff and will occur bi-weekly through WebEx. Committee members will be assigned tasks to complete outside of the regular meetings, therefore the time commitment for being on the committee is approximately 2-4 hours per week.

Providing Feedback

Envision 2030 SWOT Responses

Interested to see how the community responded to the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats analysis? Click here!

Envision 2030 Committee Google Drive

Want to see what the Envision 2030 Advisory Committee is working on? Click here!