Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Board of Trustees

Nederland’s Town government consists of a seven-member Board of Trustees (including the mayor), which makes policy decisions on behalf of the town.

  • The Trustees are elected at large (not by district) in a general election and serve for four-year terms, except the Mayor, who serves for two-year terms.
  • Trustees must live within Town limits.
  • The Mayor appoints a Mayor Pro Tem, who presides over the Board in the Mayor’s absence.
  • The Board’s directives are carried out by Town staff, led by the Town Administrator.
  • The Board of Trustees values citizen input and ideas on all issues related to the Town of Nederland.  Input is welcome at regular Board meetings, through citizen communication forms at town hall, or electronically.

Board members may be contacted via e-mail using the protocol of
first name last initial at

Email the whole Board of Trustees (if this link doesn’t work for you, email BOT (at)


Regular Meeting Agendas, Packets, Minutes

Stream Meetings

Board of Trustees Goals

Nederland Municipal Code, Section 2:21, describes the Board of Trustees:

“The legislative and corporate authority of the Town shall be vested in a Board of Trustees, consisting of one (1) Mayor and six (6) Trustees. The Board of Trustees shall constitute the legislative body of the Town and shall have the power and authority, except as otherwise provided by statute, to exercise all power conferred upon or possessed by the Town, and shall have the power and authority to adopt such laws, ordinances and resolutions as it shall deem proper in the exercise thereof.”

The Town of Nederland is a statutory town, which means it is governed by the State Statutes of Colorado.  This mainly affects Nederland when it comes to which types of new ordinances the Town may enact.